The official internationally recognized governing body of this sport is called the Badminton World Federation (BWF) and there are five regional confederations associated with it:

  1. Asia: Badminton Asia Confederation (BAC)

  2. Africa: Badminton Confederation of Africa (BCA)

  3. Americas: Badminton Pan Am (North America and South America belong to the same confederation; BPA)

  4. Europe: Badminton Europe (BE)

  5. Oceania: Badminton Oceania (BO)